Thursday, March 29, 2018

Washington 11th State Banning Youth 'Ex-Gay' Therapy

Washington Gov. Jay Inslee has banned “ex-gay” conversion therapy in his state. (Washington Blade photo)
The Washington Blade reports:

Washington State Gov. Jay Inslee signed into law on [March 28, 2018] a ban on “ex-gay” conversion therapy, making the Evergreen State the eleventh in the nation to prohibit the widely discredited practice for youth.

Inslee signed the measure, SB 5722, at a ceremony in Olympia, Wash., making it illegal for licensed mental health therapists in engage in conversion therapy for individuals under the age of 18.

“Conversion therapy is not so much therapy, it’s abuse, and we are today prohibiting the abuse of our children, conversion therapy, which has caused scars for decades across the country of something that is inhumane and not acceptable in the State of Washington,” Inslee said.

A total of 11 states and D.C. have banned “ex-gay” therapy for youth either by law or regulations. The 11 states are Connecticut, California, Nevada, New Jersey, Oregon, Illinois, Vermont, New York, New Mexico, Rhode Island and now Washington.

See full story here.

No comments: