Monday, February 05, 2018

U.S. Refuses to Sign Marriage Equality, Trans Rights Statement

Metro Weekly reports:

The Trump administration has refused to join several North and South American nations in supporting same-sex marriage and transgender rights.

Last month, the Inter-American Court of Human Rights found Costa Rica in violation of its treaty obligations under the American Convention on Human Rights (ACHR) for LGBT people, and ordered 16 nations in the region to make same-sex marriage legal.

After that decision, seven countries in the Organization of American States (OAS) LGBTI Core Group signed a statement supporting the court’s opinion.

Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Uruguay all signed the statement, with the United States the only member of the OAS LGBTI Core Group that refused to do so. Trump’s refusal is all the more glaring given Chile, which currently does not have marriage equality, supported the measure.

See full story here.

No comments: